Books To Watch For In 2015: A Matter of Heart

There are no words for my excitement for A Matter of Heart by Amy Fellner Dominy (out May 12).

“Readers will happily sink into this emotionally grounded, contemporary young adult novel about the sudden end of one girl’s Olympic swimming dreams and the struggles she endures before realizing there are many things that define who we are.

Sixteen-year-old Abby Lipman is on track to win the state swim championships and qualify for the Olympic trials when a fainting incident at a swim meet leads to the diagnosis of a deadly heart condition. Now Abby is forced to discover who she is without the one thing that’s defined her entire life.”

I love the idea of having to redefine yourself.  I know that for me, I define myself so much more as a blogger and publicist (neither of which are my “day job,” and I don’t know what I would do if I couldn’t do them anymore) than anything else.

I am also really excited for a new Amy Dominy book, because I haven’t had one since Audition and Subtraction, which was FOREVER ago.  (Amazon says 2012, but it feels much longer.)

Leave a Reply

