45 Pounds (More Or Less)

Finished 45 Pounds (More Or Less) by K.A. Barson.

Summary (from Goodreads):

“Here are the numbers of Ann Galardi’s life:

She is 16.
And a size 17.
Her perfect mother is a size 6.
Her Aunt Jackie is getting married in 10 weeks, and wants Ann to be her bridesmaid.
So Ann makes up her mind: Time to lose 45 pounds (more or less) in 2 1/2 months.

Welcome to the world of infomercial diet plans, wedding dance lessons, embarrassing run-ins with the cutest guy Ann’s ever seen—-and some surprises about her NOT-so-perfect mother.

And there’s one more thing. It’s all about feeling comfortable in your own skin-—no matter how you add it up!”

I can’t imagine any female over the age of 13 not loving this book.  I feel like we can all relate to body issues, especially those related to food.  And I’m pretty sure we’ve all felt fat at some point (whether or not we actually are).

But Ann really is fat, and I can say that because we are about the same size and I am fat.

But that’s not all there is to Ann.  She’s incredibly smart and funny and sweet and just a kickass person.  Watching her grow as a person (while simultaneously shrinking as a person) is just amazing.

Because Ann is a teenage girl, she’s pretty sure that people are judging her all the time.  It’s funny, because I was reading this and she would see things like people talking and then laughing and she’d be like, “I know they’re talking about me,” and I would think, “Ann, don’t be so paranoid,” and then I’d remember that she was 16 and so were the other girls, and then it was like, “Yeah, they probably are, actually.”

(Oh, Ann, college will be better for you.)

I’m going to make a ridiculously high statement of praise, ready?  Ann would be best friends with Jessica Darling.  Yes, she’s that awesome.  So go read this book and let her become your new fictional best friend, too.

I loved this book to a ridiculous degree and I bet you will, too.  Highly recommended.

Leave a Reply

