The Madness Underneath

Finished The Madness Underneath by Maureen Johnson.  This is the second book in her Shades of London serioes.

Summary (from Goodreads):

“When madness stalks the streets of London, no one is safe…

There’s a creepy new terror haunting modern-day London.

Fresh from defeating a Jack the Ripper killer, Rory must put her new-found hunting skills to the test before all hell breaks loose…

But enemies are not always who you expect them to be and crazy times call for crazy solutions. A thrilling teen mystery.”

I absolutely loved the first book in this series, and I had incredibly high hopes for this one.

It’s not that I disliked it.  It’s very entertaining and fun.  It’s just…it suffers from middle book syndrome.  It’s interesting and things happen, but it’s not as good as the first book and probably not as good as the next book will be.  It serves to get us from book one to book three and that’s about it.

I also find that the older I get, the less I like constant sarcasm.  (And I say that as someone who is incredibly sarcastic.)  A little of it goes a long, long way and too much of it just gets obnoxious.

I say that because Rory crossed the line from “wickedly funny and sardonic” into “completely annoying and petulant” several times.  I will admit a good chunk of this annoyance may come from the fact that I’m in my 30s.  Also, to be fair to Rory, if anyone has the right to be petulant, she does.  (She was, after all, stabbed by a ghost.)

I’m not saying don’t read this book.  The original in the series was amazing and I do still have high hopes for whatever the sequel will be.  I’m just saying maybe keep your expectations a little lower for this one.

2 thoughts on “The Madness Underneath

Leave a Reply

