Forget Me

Finished Forget Me by K.A. Harrington.  I received a copy from the publisher.

Summary (from Goodreads):

An edge-of-your seat psychological thriller with a romantic twist

On the three-month anniversary of her boyfriend Flynn’s death, Morgan uploads her only photo of him to FriendShare to get some closure—but she’s shocked when the facial recognition software suggests she tag him as “Evan Murphy.” She’s never heard of Evan, but a quick search tells her that he lives in a nearby town and looks exactly like Flynn. Only this boy is very much alive.

Digging through layers of secrets and lies, Morgan is left questioning everything she thought she knew about her boyfriend, her town, and even her parents’ involvement in this massive web of lies.”

I read Kim Harrington’s book The Dead and Buried last year and absolutely loved it.  (You may remember that I compared her to Mary Downing Hahn.)  This book is nothing at all like that.

I don’t have a 100% accurate comparison for it, but the closest I can get is that this is kind of Hitchcock in terms of secrets and mistaken identities and shady goings-on.  (Sort of like Vertigo, but not.)

The thing I appreciated the most is the fact that, while Morgan is still hung up on Flynn’s death, it’s mostly because she feels responsible.  They’d dated for two months and she liked him, but he wasn’t the great love of her life.  I feel like it would have been really easy to go in that direction and I appreciate the restraint.

This book is very suspenseful and also fun.  (I also appreciate that I didn’t see the twists coming.  It’s a nice change.)

Highly recommended.

Leave a comment