Things I’m Obsessed With

Welcome to the latest Things I’m Obsessed With!

Pop Culture:

Harold Ramis died Monday.  I typically get sad at celebrities dying, but this is a whole other level.  I said on Facebook that I think the last celebrity death that affected me this way is when John Hughes died a couple of years ago.  I don’t think I could overstate how much I loved these two, and Ramis’ death has gotten me right in the childhood.  I love most of the movies he directed and starred in (Ghostbusters, OF COURSE, and Groundhog Day and Multiplicity, but National Lampoon’s Vacation is the first R-rated movie I ever saw, and it’s one of my comfort food movies).  A couple friends of mine have met him, and apparently he was just as lovely and gracious as we could’ve wanted.  I personally didn’t meet him, but my world is a little bit worse now.

Books:

We are getting ever closer to BEA, and I’m starting to do preliminary plans about what I hope will be there and who I hope to meet.  The closer we get, the more information will be available (obviously).  I just hope that they don’t wait until two weeks before to release final schedules, like they did last year.

Movies:

The Oscars (and Independent Spirit awards) are this weekend!  I can’t wait to see what movies/actors win, and I hope that 12 Years a Slave wins Best Picture in both.  Really, though, so long as American Hustle goes home empty-handed, I’ll be happy.  (That movie was a huge disappointment for me.)  I did love many of the Best Picture/acting nominees, though, especially 12 Years a Slave, The Wolf of Wall Street, Dallas Buyers Club, Philomena, Nebraska and Her.  I enjoyed Gravity and Captain Phillips, too.

TV:

I am so happy that my shows are finally coming back tomorrow!  I don’t understand how the Olympics means that every other show has to air reruns.  We don’t all watch the Olympics, and it’s SWEEPS.  If people miss something because of the Olympics, maybe they need to suck it up and get a DVR.  Don’t penalize everyone.  It’s not nice.

So what are you obsessed with this week?

6 thoughts on “Things I’m Obsessed With

    1. If April doesn’t pick Jackson…well, I’ll keep watching anyway. But she better. Even though she doesn’t deserve him. Or Matthew. (I hate April. I hate April SO MUCH.)

      BEA is the best reason to become a book blogger. Every year, publishers hold Book Expo America. It’s typically in New York (it’ll be there this year and next) but sometimes they have it in Chicago (2016, I think). You pay to get in, but you get to meet people in publishing and authors. And you get books. Lots of books. Lots of books that aren’t out yet. Lots of books that aren’t out yet FOR FREE. It’s like Disneyland, only better.

      1. I want April to pick Jackson so bad. They are so perfect for each other. I say they throw a curveball and she ends up with neither of of them… kind of like at the beginning of the season when April wanted Jackson but he told her “no.” and we have to think about matthew. He may not even want to stay together. There were unresolved issues, and April convinced him there weren’t. There’s a reason he didn’t become a series regular. she won’t end up with him… but at the same time i seriously doubt she’s gonna jump right back into Jackson’s arms because she’s mad at him for doing this to her. However, if they find their ways back to each other in the next few episodes… I’ll be so freakin giddy.
        Make sense? Hope so.

        1. I think April and Jackson will end up together, but she in no way deserves him. (I like them together better than I like April and Matthew together, but both guys can do better than April. She doesn’t even know what she wants.)

          1. I think she deserved him before they were together in the first place. then everything changed, and she kept freaking out on him & about what their relationship was. and he just put up with it because he finally caught her. not like he had been chasing her to begin with on purpose or anything.
            … now i just want them together because they belong together in a twisted sort of way…
            and sorry for the long grey’s conversation. i’m addicted enough (and so are a few of my friends) that we’ll nitpick through every episode. me and my and my friends have been waiting for this since december, so everyone’s had time to fantacize about what they want to happen.

  1. I don’t know if they do, though. I don’t think April knows what she wants. She seems to be torn between being who she actually is and who she thinks she should be. Jackson is the perfect guy for who she is, but she’s full of self-loathing because Matthew should be her perfect guy and he just isn’t. And she’s old enough to not be acting like she is. (You’re not in high school, April!)

Leave a Reply

