The Lies That Bind

Finished The Lies That Bind by Lisa Roecker and Laura Roecker.

Summary (from Goodreads):

“Just when Kate Lowry thought she had life at elite private school Pemberly Brown figured out, she cracks open a fortune cookie to find a message from her best friend Grace–who’s supposed to be dead.

Another Sister Gone

A classmate has gone missing, and Kate soon realizes that the disappearance is tied to the secret societies that rule her private school. Her best friend died for their secrets, and there’s no way she’ll let them get away with it twice. It’s up to quirky outsider Kate to get some answers, but in a school where every answer leads to more questions and nothing’s as it seems, who can she trust?”

This is the second book in the Liar Society series and I read and loved the first book when it came out.  Unfortunately, that was two years ago and by the time I read this book, I’d forgotten pretty much everything from that one.  I spent a lot of this story trying to remember exactly what had happened and that did affect my enjoyment of this.  (It IS my fault, though, but just be aware going in that you may want to read the three books back to back because there isn’t very much exposition in this one.)

But once it gets going, of course, that stops mattering.  This book kept me guessing in the best possible way and all of the various twists and turns made sense (this is hard to do but very important).

Ever since I saw The Skulls (in the movie theater, thank you), I’ve been completely fascinated by secret societies and this series is a really good example for why: shady dealings go on, my friends, and you generally can’t trust anyone or know who’s on what side.  It’s very confusing in the best way.

I’m very excited to read the third book, and I won’t be waiting more than a few hours to start this time. ;)  I’m also excited because it’s the end.  After the conclusion of THIS book, I’m very eager to see exactly where the story goes and how it all wraps up.  According to Goodreads, it’s also under 300 pages, and I have no idea how they’re going to finish the entire story in that few pages.  But I’ll find out soon enough! :)

2 thoughts on “The Lies That Bind

  1. When a lot of time has passed before I read the next book in a series it usually takes me awhile to put the characters together and remember who’s who and what they did. This sounds like an interesting story, with lots of suspense and intrigue. Thanks for telling us about it.
    Have a nice week.

Leave a Reply

