Books to Watch For in 2014: A Guest Post From Valerie!

Throughout December, I will be highlighting 2014 releases that I’m incredibly excited for.  I got the idea for this from my friend Kathy, who is doing something similar.  Make sure to check out her blog to see what books she’s excited for next year!

Today, my awesome friend and blogmate Val is here to discuss her most anticipated books in 2014.

My blogmate, Kelly, has asked what books I am looking forward to in 2014. Well, several of my favorite authors have books coming out next year.

Sarah Rees Brennan’s last book in the Lynburn trilogy, Unbroken, will be out some time next year. Hopefully. You can check out the first 2 books here.

Jess Haines’s latest book in her H&W Investigations series, Enslaved By The Others, will be out on July 1, 2014. You can check out the first 5 books here.

Charlaine Harris is starting a new book series. Whoo! The first book, Midnight Crossroad, will be published on May 6, 2014.

Pamela Palmer’s latest book in her Vamp City series will be out some time next year. No publication date, title or cover art. Booooooo! You can check out the first 2 books here.

Jeaniene Frost’s last book in her Night Prince trilogy will be out some time next year. No publication date, title or cover art. Yet. You can check out the first 2 books here.

She is also starting a new, non-vampire (gasp!) series. The first book, The Beautiful Ashes, will be released in September 2014.

Which leads me to my most eagerly awaited book of 2014. At least at this point! There is a publication date AND a book cover and I have already pre-ordered it on Amazon.

UFTG
Up From The Grave – Jeaniene Frost

Up From The Grave is the latest book in Frost’s Night Huntress series. It is also the last! (Insert dramatic sob here!) I have previously gushed over Jeaniene Frost’s books and will now do so again!

I first discovered her books last October. After the first book I read, Once Burned, I decided to read the rest of the series. (Once Burned, at that time, was the last book in the series.) Using the helpful reading guide on her website, I then read every book, short story and novella in her entire Night Huntress/Night Huntress World/Night Prince series in order. All 15! I finished with the the last Night Prince book, Twice Tempted, at the end of March.

The Night Huntress series features Cat, a half-vampire, and Bones, a full vampire. In the first book, Halfway to the Grave, Cat and Bones meet, fall in love and beat the crap out of a lot of bad people. Heh. Over the course of the series, Cat and Bones go through a lot of adventures. There’s lots of blood, death, sex, friendship, zombies, love, a dream snatcher, sex, demons, voodoo, betrayals, vendettas, ghosts, telepathy and sex. Did I forget to mention the sexy times?

I have thoroughly, thoroughly enjoyed this series. Frost has created a fascinating, complex world of humans, vampires, ghosts and ghouls. In the first Night Huntress book, Halfway To The Grave, Cat has recently learned of her vampire heritage and enters the supernatural world intent on killing vampires. She is quickly captured by Master vampire Bones and her education of all things supernatural begins. As Cat learns the ins and outs of her new world, so does the reader. It has been so much fun to meet all the characters and to love them, cry for them, be angry with them.

As I said, this is the last Cat and Bones book. I hope they get a rollicking send off with lots of machinations and asskicking! And sexy times! Originally, the series was supposed to be 9 books. But as she was writing Up From The Grave, Frost realized that she had finished their story. I am sorry that this will end the adventures of Cat and Bones, but it’s hard to argue with, “if I just kept writing, I would only be taking your money.”

Thanks, Val! So what are you most excited for from this list?

4 thoughts on “Books to Watch For in 2014: A Guest Post From Valerie!

Leave a Reply

