Latest AFI List (and movie chat)

Today, the AFI released their 10 best movies and TV shows of 2013.

The 10 best movies:  12 Years a Slave, American Hustle, Captain Phillips, Fruitvale Station, Gravity, Her, Inside Llewyn Davis, Nebraska, Saving Mr. Banks, The Wolf of Wall Street

The 10 best TV shows:  The Americans, Breaking Bad, Game of Thrones, The Good Wife, House of Cards, Mad Men, Masters of Sex, Orange is the New Black, Scandal, VEEP

The TV show list isn’t a huge surprise (although it is interesting to note that for the first time, there are two “nontraditional” shows, both of which are on Netflix and not on TV).

The movie list is more of a surprise, though.  I can’t believe that The Dallas Buyers Club isn’t on it.  Granted, the only movie I’ve seen is Gravity* but I can’t imagine that TDBC doesn’t belong on that list.  I haven’t heard of Her, but I am excited for seeing the other movies on that list.

* = visually stunning, excellent acting, likely to be nominated for Best Picture and Best Actress; not too likely to win.

8 thoughts on “Latest AFI List (and movie chat)

    1. I’ve seen five of the best TV and exactly one of the movies. I am hoping to watch VEEP and Masters of Sex over my weekend (thank you, Showtime!) and maybe the pilot of House of Cards. Orange… isn’t out on DVD yet (hurry, please, Netflix).

        1. Yes, I remember you talking about OitNB. :) Breaking Bad is my favorite, followed by Mad Men and Scandal. Good Wife…I don’t understand why people love that show so much. It’s fine, but it’s not BRILLIANT. I saw the pilot of Game of Thrones and want to watch more.

  1. Glad to see The Americans made the list — I thought it was the best show of last year. Also happy for VEEP, which was terrific. The Good Wife has made a good comeback after an off-season last year. Easily the only network drama that gets close to this list.

Leave a Reply

