Catherine

Finished Catherine by April Lindner.  I received a copy from the publisher on Netgalley.

Summary (from Goodreads):

A forbidden romance. A modern mystery. Wuthering Heights as you’ve never seen it before.

Catherine is tired of struggling musicians befriending her just so they can get a gig at her Dad’s famous Manhattan club, The Underground. Then she meets mysterious Hence, an unbelievably passionate and talented musician on the brink of success. As their relationship grows, both are swept away in a fiery romance. But when their love is tested by a cruel whim of fate, will pride keep them apart?

Chelsea has always believed that her mom died of a sudden illness, until she finds a letter her dad has kept from her for years—a letter from her mom, Catherine, who didn’t die: She disappeared. Driven by unanswered questions, Chelsea sets out to look for her—starting with the return address on the letter: The Underground.

Told in two voices, twenty years apart, Catherine interweaves a timeless forbidden romance with a compelling modern mystery.”

I read Wuthering Heights in college but I didn’t really remember it.  (Actually at the same time I read Jane Eyre, which April Linder has also updated/reimagined, although I haven’t read Jane yet.)  I mention that so if you haven’t read Wuthering Heights, you know that’s not a prerequisite for loving Catherine.

There is a lot of Wuthering Heights in this, at least in terms of Hence/Heathcliff being incredibly moody and Catherine being incredibly privileged, but it’s also completely its own novel.  I don’t remember Catherine’s daughter being a big piece of Wuthering Heights, but again, I haven’t read it in almost 15 years.

While I loved both stories (the flashbacks of Catherine and the modern-day story of Chelsea trying to learn about her mom), I think I preferred Chelsea.  Both are great, however, and neither aspect of the story dragged for me.

I think people who love Wuthering Heights will find much to enjoy in this retelling, but again, it’s not at all mandatory to have read (or liked) Wuthering Heights.

I do want to re-read it now and I also really want to read Jane.

Highly recommended.

Leave a Reply

