Best of 2012: Contemporary YA

This was seriously the hardest category to pick!

10) Bittersweet by Sarah Ockler. I discovered her books because of a would-be censor. It’s so awful to say, but I am grateful to that crazy man. Her books are amazing and this one is no exception. (Emphasis on the sweet, not the bitter.)

9) I Hunt Killers by Barry Lyga. This book was ridiculously insane and over-the-top scary. I can’t wait to read the sequel in April!

8) Purity by Jackson Pearce. This reminded me of the similarly-named and themed Pure. That’s high praise. :)

7) Boy21 by Matthew Quick. Matthew Quick is one of the most underrated authors around. His books are clever and funny and rip your heart out sad in parts. I cannot recommend him highly enough.

6) In Honor by Jessi Kirby. I discovered Jessi Kirby last year; this book has cemented her on my “favorites” list.

5) Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson. Almost as good as Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour! I love her books so much.

4) Unraveling Isobel and The Almost Truth by Eileen Cook. Impossible to pick, so I choose both. :) (Read her backlist, too!)

3) Tilt by Ellen Hopkins. Another heartbreaking book but so amazingly good.

2) Skinny by Donna Cooner. I loved this book beyond all reason. I bet you will, too.

1) The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. Obviously.

5 thoughts on “Best of 2012: Contemporary YA

  1. “The Fault in Our Stars,” by John Green. #1? Absolutely. I got my mom to read it, and now they’re going to do that and “The End of Your Life Book Club,” which I gave her for Christmas. Your mavenly ripples travel far, my friend. :-)

  2. *- “They’re going to do and The End of Your Life Book Club in my mom’s book club. My laptop sometimes destroys key phrases.

Leave a Reply

